Field Report:

The Non-Glamorous Side of Photography

Introducing Field Report: The Non-Glamorous Side of Photography

Welcome to the Field Report: The Non-Glamorous Side of Photography. This “sub-blog” will compliment my regular blog, In The Field, by featuring weekly links from the photography industry that I think are worthwhile to read along with my digital imaging workflow, photo business-related news, and interviews with photographers / creative industry professionals that I respect. I have also written several articles about digital workflow, stock photography and internet marketing on my regular blog in the past, and will be migrating those to this blog for convenient access organized under the “Article Categories” section on the right column. Meanwhile, In the Field will continue to be a photography-based travelogue for my adventures.

One reason why I’m doing this is so that I can stay true to the original concept of In The Field, while expanding the type of content that I publish. Many of my readers are photographers – both professional photographers and hobbyists, so this sub-blog is directed toward that audience without having to bore the non-photographer readers of my blog.

The first blog post, “Stock Photo Agencies”, will be published at 8 a.m. Eastern Time / 5 a.m. Pacific Time on Monday, July 14th.

Upcoming articles include:

  • Digital Photography Workflow: Have a Good Filing System
  • Interesting Links 7-16-08
  • Adding Music to Your Photo Slideshows on a Budget
  • Photo Keywording Strategy
  • Social Networking: A Waste of Time for Photographers, or a Smart Investment?
  • Rights-Managed or Royalty-Free?
  • Interviews with photographers, an advertising art director, and a startup photo company president
  • Developing and Maintaining Your Photography Brand

Thank you,
Richard Wong

www.rwongphoto.com

July 11, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized | ,

10 Comments »

  1. I see you have been very busy Richard. This looks great! I have thought of doing something very similar with my first blog http://smeyer.wordpress.com/.

    Comment by Sherri Meyer | July 13, 2008 | Reply

  2. Thanks Sherri. I didn’t realize you had the other blog, definitely more in line with what this will be.

    Comment by Richard Wong | July 13, 2008 | Reply

  3. Looks like you will be covering some great info here Richard. Good luck with this, I be sure to tune in.

    Comment by Mark | July 14, 2008 | Reply

  4. Thanks Mark. It will be interesting to see where it goes from here. The interviews should make for an interesting read.

    Comment by Richard Wong | July 14, 2008 | Reply

  5. This should help me a lot Richard, this is the part of photography I never thought I would ever have to worry about, thanks for getting this going !!

    Comment by Bernie Kasper | July 16, 2008 | Reply

  6. Thanks Bernie. Participation is very much welcome, and if you have some topics that you would like to write about then I can add you as a contributor as well.

    Comment by Richard Wong | July 16, 2008 | Reply

  7. I didn’t know about this post when I wished you good luck in my last post. So I will say it again! And, it’s nice that you’re doing this. I’ve read so much already this morning, and found a few great blogs … like the one with the unreal list of stock agencies. I’ve been missing out on a lot and will look to your blog to stay informed!

    Comment by Gloria Hopkins | July 18, 2008 | Reply

  8. Thanks Gloria. Glad that this could be of service to you, and hopefully there are many others out there that find something of use here whether it be from the links or the content that is published.

    Comment by Richard Wong | July 18, 2008 | Reply

  9. Great to see this blog take shape. I look forward to reading future entries and taking part in the conversation here.

    Comment by Jim Goldstein | July 23, 2008 | Reply

  10. Thanks Jim. Your input is very welcomed.

    Comment by Richard Wong | July 23, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

