Field Report:

The Non-Glamorous Side of Photography

Stock Photography Poll

I’ve been pretty busy as of late, but I’ve been wanting to test some new business strategies. Here is one of them:

I’ve been ranking highly on the search engines for things like “environmental pictures“, “environment pollution pictures”, “photos of environmental issues”. Currently this month, I’ve received over 100 searches for these terms and nearly 1,000 views for this page alone so I was thinking of ways to capitalize on this traffic. As you know, environmental topics are at the forefront of the news these days and will increasingly continue to be so I’m thinking that this could be a great opportunity.

If anyone has any opinions about this, I would appreciate if you would fill out this poll.

Thanks,

October 14, 2008 - Posted by | stock photography, Uncategorized, Web | , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. I voted to let others contribute cause I want to 🙂 I hear niche focused stock sites are all the rage these days as buyers grow tired of sifting through a million pics on the big sites.

    Comment by StockPhotoJourney | October 14, 2008 | Reply

  2. Thanks Bill. I think you’re right about the sifting through part. It is always a delicate balance between having a ‘critical’ mass of images to ensure sales versus not overwhelming the buyer. The first person who figures that out to a science, I’d sure like to speak to them.

    Comment by Richard Wong | October 14, 2008 | Reply

  3. Richard – I think you are already doing the right thing. That’s why you are already ranked highly for photos of environmental issues. Just keep doing what your doing!

    Comment by Sherri Meyer | October 16, 2008 | Reply

  4. Thanks for the feedback Sherri. A stock photo agent of mine has suggested shooting more environmental subjects as well so that is why I brought it up.

    Comment by Richard Wong | October 16, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

