Field Report:

The Non-Glamorous Side of Photography

Lightroom 2 – Wow!

Maroon Bells Reflection in Maroon Lake in Winter, Maroon - Snowmass Wilderness, Colorado

Maroon Bells Reflection in Maroon Lake in Winter, Maroon - Snowmass Wilderness, Colorado

I bought a copy of Adobe Lightroom 2 the other day and am extremely impressed for reasons I didn’t expect. Initially I just wanted a RAW converter for the latest cameras and a more efficient way to cull down a large batch of images. While I’m still working out how to incorporate Lightroom 2 into my existing workflow, the quality of image processing I’ve been able to get from LR2 has blown me away. I really didn’t think I would do any photo processing with LR2 other than hit the import and export to Photoshop buttons. That all changed the minute I open my first image and started experimenting with the various sliders.

Maroon Bells - Adobe Lightroom 2

Maroon Bells - Adobe Lightroom 2

Once I processed a few images from the Brea Canyon fire, I decided to try it on this Maroon Bells image. The top photo was processed two years ago in Photoshop and I tried my best to pull as much detail out of the image as possible. With Lightroom 2, it required minimal effort to get detail from my picture that I never even knew existed!

If this isn’t enough evidence to convince you to try Lightroom 2 then I don’t know what is. Image quality should the first and foremost priority for photographers.

November 20, 2008 - Posted by | Product Reviews, software | ,

3 Comments »

  1. Richard:

    Thanks for posting; I’ve been considering giving lightroom another try. Hard to see detail comparison on the web. Any chance you could post a couple 100% snippets from problem areas on the PShop and LR2 images?

    Cheers.

    Comment by Gary Crabbe / Enlightened Images | November 20, 2008 | Reply

  2. No problem Gary. I’ll get some crops of the highlight and shadow areas later and try to have a new post up tomorrow morning.

    Comment by Richard Wong | November 20, 2008 | Reply

  3. […] mentioned in my previous Adobe Lightroom 2 post, I was able to obtain a greater dynamic range from my Maroon Bells photo than I had thought […]

    Pingback by Highlight and Shadow Details - LR2 v.s. CS « Field Report: | November 21, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

