Field Report:

The Non-Glamorous Side of Photography

Highlight and Shadow Details – LR2 v.s. CS

Photoshop CS Highlight Detail Crop

Photoshop CS Highlight Detail Crop

As mentioned in my previous Adobe Lightroom 2 post, I was able to obtain a greater dynamic range from my Maroon Bells photo than I had thought possible. There’s no need for scientific analysis. The evidence is here in these 100% crops of both the contrasty highlight and shadow detail areas.

Lightroom 2 Highlight Detail Crop

Lightroom 2 Highlight Detail Crop

I even tried decreasing the exposure and contrast in Photoshop to -100 and still couldn’t even get detail in the burnout areas of the cloud whereas Lightroom 2 was able to retain highlight detail without affecting other parts of the image. To be fair, I haven’t tried CS3 so I’m not saying that Lightroom 2 is better for image processing but it is clear that Lightroom 2’s RAW converter is very powerful and well worth the money for anyone who is on the fence about whether or not it is worth the money.

Photoshop CS Shadow Detail Crop

Photoshop CS Shadow Detail Crop

Lightroom 2 Shadow Detail Crop

Lightroom 2 Shadow Detail Crop

November 21, 2008 - Posted by | Digital Workflow, software |

2 Comments »

  1. Oh, Dude – No fair! (said like: Stewie @ Family Guy)

    my oversight.
    You so need to be on CS3 to make this a real ‘modern’ comparison. The raw converter in CS3 is based on the Lightroom Engine. Of course, to use CS3, I had to upgrade to WinXP, and while I was at it, I upgraded my production computer to a quad-core, so it was slightly more expensive for me to make the jump to CS3 than most users due to the PC OS requirement.

    But for what you have there, vs. CS, yeah – huge difference.

    Cheers.

    Comment by Gary Crabbe / Enlightened Images | November 21, 2008 | Reply

  2. Hey Gary. Yeah I just noticed that I forgot to state what version of software I was using and had just said two years ago which I believe pre-dates CS3.

    I upgraded computers earlier this year and have four gigs of RAM so it runs pretty smooth for me. On the old Pentium single processor, I couldn’t imagine running LR2 on there.

    Comment by Richard Wong | November 21, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

