Field Report:

The Non-Glamorous Side of Photography

Professional Photography Industry Website Roll Call!!

This blog was intended to be a one-stop resource for professional photography industry websites and information. I already have a fairly large list of sites on the side bar including the obvious ones like A Photo Editor, John Harrington, etc… but by no means am I aware of every reputable site out there. If you have more professional photography related sites that you think should be listed on this site, then feel free to post them in the comments. I’ll take a look at any site submitted and add onto the sidebar the ones that I feel are relevant. Sites that add to the collective knowledge are given first priority. Microstock sites need not apply. Hopefully that doesn’t weed everyone else out…

Thank you.

December 15, 2008 - Posted by | Weekly Links | , ,

16 Comments »

  1. lol. Wow. Free links and no one is putting them up! I would think from the several thousand monthly readers, there would be some interest.

    Comment by Richard | December 16, 2008 | Reply

  2. Maybe everyone is scared/nervous of your potential reviews? 🙂

    Comment by Taylor Davidson | December 16, 2008 | Reply

  3. Nice theory Taylor. Perhaps I should change the language since a literal “review” wasn’t what I intended to mean. I meant just evaluate it for myself before adding the link.

    Thanks.

    Comment by Richard Wong | December 16, 2008 | Reply

  4. Richard – I think this is a great idea! Here is one for you. Check out PhotoSource International at http://www.photosource.com/index.php. They have been in business for a very long time and provide a lot of great information.

    I have quite a few on the sidebar of my Photo Blog as well. You can check them out at http://www.sherrimeyer.com/Blog. You might find something else that interests you.

    Comment by Sherri Meyer | December 17, 2008 | Reply

  5. Richard,

    I’ve already thought you’ve put together a hugely comprehensive list, and obviously put in a significant amount of time and effort on what you’ve got. Personally, I’ve never liked the photographers index stock price calculator as it’s too limited. The only thing that jumps to my mind is the ASPP and PACA, along with USEPLUS.org

    Cheers & Hope the holidays are treating you well thus far.

    Comment by Gary Crabbe / Enlightened Images | December 17, 2008 | Reply

  6. Thanks Gary. Good stuff, exactly what I was looking for. Funny that I mentioned the UsePlus stuff in the recent blog post but didn’t occur to add a site link to it.

    As for the Photographer’s Index calculator, I agree. Though it is an easy resource to point out to people because it doesn’t require you to register for an account first unlike the agency calculators.

    Comment by Richard Wong | December 18, 2008 | Reply

  7. Thanks Sherri. What a coincidence. I was actually thinking of photosource myself as I was writing this blog post.

    Comment by Richard Wong | December 18, 2008 | Reply

  8. I would love to have my site added! I have made quite a few tutorials and guides available. Direct link to the guides:

    http://www.paxtonprints.com/index.php?x=tutorials

    Thanks!

    Comment by Steve Paxton | December 18, 2008 | Reply

  9. Some really excellent Lightroom tutorials Steve. I added your link under Photographer Resources. I’ll have to read more in-depth when I get a chance.

    Thanks,

    Richard

    Comment by Richard Wong | December 18, 2008 | Reply

  10. Photographer Harry Nowell forwarded me a link to his newsletters:

    http://www.harrynowell.com/ottawa_photographer_newsletter.htm

    Some good stuff and I will add it to the Photographer Resources column.

    Comment by Richard Wong | December 18, 2008 | Reply

  11. Hi Richard, great idea and I look forward to perhaps reading a follow up post featuring the new sites you’ve chosen.

    If I may, I’d like to suggest my own blog: http://neil.creek.name/blog I’m a long-time amateur photographer who has decided to dive in and go pro. I’m writing about what I learn about photography and turning it into a business. I hope it will be a resource for all photographers, and especially those turning pro.

    Thank you for the opportunity!

    Comment by neilcreek | December 19, 2008 | Reply

  12. Hi Neil. I’ll add you onto the weblog roll column.

    Comment by Richard Wong | December 19, 2008 | Reply

  13. Hi Richard,

    I’d like to suggest my own photography blog Magical Places Fine Art. It’s a genuine resource for any aspiring or indeed most professional photographers, with lots of interviews with top fine art, travel and documentary photographers.

    Regards, Andrew

    Comment by andrewgibson | December 21, 2008 | Reply

  14. Yes, you have an excellent blog Andrew. I added it onto the weblog roll list.

    Thanks.

    Comment by Richard Wong | December 21, 2008 | Reply

  15. Thanks.

    Comment by andrewgibson | December 22, 2008 | Reply

  16. I really enjoy your content and posts. Would you consider reviewing my work to see if you like it and add me to your “photographers I admire” or “weblog roll”

    Thanks in advance. Please let me know if you need any additional assistance with web content.

    Comment by Minneapolis Wedding Photographer | February 2, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

